As an administrator, you can:
To manage users and groups, select Users/Groups in the Administration window.
The Users/Groups window enables you to manage user and group accounts for Z and I Emulator for Web and Database On-Demand. A tree view of the defined groups and users is displayed. To see the members of a group, select the group. To see only certain members of a group, use the filter by removing the check mark from Disable User Filter. Once the filter is enabled, the Filter window appears when you select a group. Choose to display all users in a group or only users matching the specified filter. For example, to display all users with IDs that begin with the letter L, enter L* in the UserID field and click Filter.
Access to Z and I Emulator for Web and Database On-Demand function is managed according to user and group accounts. User accounts contain specific information regarding a particular user, including the user's ID, password, description, group membership, database statements, and the host sessions that will be available to the user or group. By defining a group account, you can apply access settings to all users assigned to the group, making user management more efficient and more flexible. In this way, a host session can be defined once for a group and then made available to the group's members. Of course, a host session can still be defined for an individual user, in addition to sessions already defined for the user's group.
User accounts provide password-protected access to Z and I Emulator for Web and Database On-Demand. As part of the account, session configuration information is saved, along with changes that the user makes during a session, such as changes to keyboard and color mapping or recorded macros. Also, any changes to the Z and I Emulator for Web user desktop are saved (such as, adding new sessions and deleting sessions). No changes are saved if Do Not Save Preferences is checked.
You can arrange users into groups. A user must be a member of at least one group but can be a member of several. In the latter case, the user will have access to the host sessions and database statements that are assigned to all the groups of which the user is a member.
|If you are using Lightweight Directory Access Protocol (LDAP), then you can only be a member of one group. However, you can nest the groups, that is, include a group within a group.|
If you are using Z and I Emulator for Web for the private data store (instead of LDAP), the default group ZIEWeb, is supplied. You can change its Description and add users to it but you cannot change its name or delete it. If you are using LDAP, you can delete the ZIEWeb group, because LDAP treats the ZIEWeb group just like any other group.
An Administrator account is provided. The default user ID is admin and the password is password. As an administrator, you can change the password but you cannot change the user ID and you cannot delete this account. We recommend that you change the password for security reasons.
You can configure host sessions for groups or for individual users. It is preferable to define groups, including their host sessions, then add users to the groups. All the users in the group then have access to the sessions defined for the group and you do not need to define sessions separately for each user. Users can customize their own sessions without affecting the session definitions in the groups, for example, change the screen colors, remap the keyboard, or hide the toolbar. Administrators can also customize these session definitions for a user or an entire group if the Full administration client is installed. For more information about the Full administration client, see Administration client. If you change a user's session, the next time the user starts the session, the preferences will be active. If you change the group sessions, the user will inherit those changes, unless they have already customized those fields that are changed.
If you don't want users to be able to make changes to the sessions, click Lock in the session configuration window next to the fields you want to lock. Locking fields locks the startup values for a session. Users cannot change values for those fields because the fields are unavailable.
You can also disable functions that you do not want users to access. You can disable any of the graphical interface items on pop-up menu and buttons in the Client window, the session menu, and the session toolbar. Disabling functions is different from locking functions. You can lock the fields of a function when you are configuring a session. Functions can be disabled when configuring a user or group. When a function is disabled, it is removed from the toolbar or menus so users do not see it. Functions cannot be accessed using the shortcut keys either.
There is no specific Guest user ID built into Z and I Emulator for Web. However, you can create a user ID (or more than one) that can be shared by multiple people. To do this, create a user ID and click Do not save preferences in the Create User window so that shared users can access the sessions provided for them, and can make changes that will be active only until they log off. If you do this, changes made by one user will not affect others. Of course, you can use the group feature to create groups for shared users by department or area, for example. You might also want to check the User cannot change password check box for your guest ID or, don't set a password at all.
Unless Do not save preferences was checked when the account was created, preferences set during a host session are saved. These include color and keyboard mapping, macros created or changed, and the settings for the toolbars. These preferences are saved in the account of the individual user and associated with the icon for the session to which they apply. As a result of this:
Follow these steps: